Preservation Kentucky Excellence in Preservation Awards

2023 Recipients Demonstrate the Positive Economic and Social Impact of Historic Buildings

Preservation Kentucky Excellence in Preservation Awards

Each year thousands of Kentuckians work tirelessly to preserve Kentucky’s legacy reflected in our historic buildings, structures, landscapes and prehistoric sites. Preservation Kentucky established the Excellence in Preservation Awards in 2012 to recognize exceptional accomplishments in the preservation, rehabilitation and interpretation of our architectural and cultural heritage, and to distinguish best practices in the field. The awards feature people and projects from rural and urban communities throughout the state, and their stories are inspirational, encouraging reminders of how historic preservation strengthens communities, fosters economic development, maintains and creates jobs, and contributes to our quality of life.  The wide range of recipients is a testament to our statewide reach and the preservation community.  View the list of recipients since 2012 > Preservation Kentucky Excellence Award Recipients 2012-2019


Award Categories  

Preservation Kentucky’s Excellence in Preservation Awards are named after preservation trailblazers with distinguished volunteer and professional service devoted to preserving our architectural and cultural heritage, and they are given to leaders in the field who set the standard for best practices and serve as outstanding examples of excellence.


2023 Recipients


National Society of Colonial Dames of America in Kentucky (NSCDA-KY)

Edith S. Bingham Excellence in Preservation Education

For for their exceptional stewardship of two Frankfort sites, the Orlando Brown House, built 1835, and Liberty Hall, built 1796 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1971, and for the multifaceted educational programs offered there to tell the full American story.


Jay and Kelly Shoffner, Middlesboro, Bell County

Linda Bruckheimer Excellence in Rural Preservation Award

For their renovation and adaptive reuse of numerous historic buildings over the years in Downtown Middlesboro, use of local artisans, utilization of historic tax credits, and partnerships with the Middlesboro Main Street Program, HUD and local civic groups to revitalize downtown.


Yvonne Giles, Lexington, Fayette County

Helen Dedman Excellence in Preservation Advocacy

For her remarkable post-retirement career as a genealogist, historian, researcher, author, educator, and preservationist to uncover Central Kentucky’s rich African American history and document the gravesites of equine industry workers, Black soldiers with the Civil War’s U.S. Colored Troops, post-war Buffalo Soldiers and famous Harlem Hellfighters, the most decorated American combat unit of WWI.


Kelsie Gray, Paducah, McCracken County

Patrick Kennedy Excellence in Preservation Craftsmanship

For her exceptional traditional building skills, crafts techniques, and historic window restoration expertise, which have preserved the original windows on homes, museums, churches, and a variety of buildings throughout Kentucky and beyond.


Underhill Associates, Myers Medical Lofts, Louisville, Jefferson County

David L. Morgan Excellence in Kentucky Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit – Commercial

For their adaptive reuse of an endangered early 1900s dental school into residential apartments for Downtown Louisville’s medical community, and their preservation of this important turn-of-the-century historic landmark, which was slated for demolition.


Jeff Jobe, Glasgow, Barren County

Tim Peters and Lois Mateus Excellence in Making a Difference on Main Street

For for his transformative renovation projects, marketing savvy and small business recruitment, which was a catalyst for the revitalization of Glasgow’s Main Street corridor and pivotal for the resurgence of their downtown.


Kenneth Thomson, Milton, Trimble County

Ann Early Sutherland Excellence in Environmental Preservation

For for his dedicated volunteer service in the Trimble County river community of Milton, where he helped prevent erosion at the town’s historic cemetery and conserve the natural habitat and organic gardens at the historic Payne Hollow homestead of Harlan and Anna Hubbard.


Our Hosts – Darrell and Debbie Poynter and their son Chris Pointer, Owners of the Trackside Restaurant & Bar at the Paris Train Station 

Recipients were recognized on Saturday, September 23 at the historic Paris Train Depot, 2018 recipient of our Linda Bruckheimer Excellence in Rural Preservation Award for the great care taken by owners Darrell and Debbie Poynter and their son Chris to preserve its historic integrity and heritage.  Their conversion of the depot into the Trackside Restaurant & Bar at the Paris Train Station is an outstanding example of how preserving an historic property contributes to the fabric of our community. By putting the building back into service and on the tax rolls, running a business, employing local residents, and reinforcing the preservation cause, the Poynters are giving back to their community and the Commonwealth with benefits tenfold.  We appreciate the Poynters’ generosity and hospitality to host us this year!

*View the list of recipients since 2012 > Preservation Kentucky Excellence Award Recipients 2012-2019