Annual Excellence in Preservation Awards Celebrate Impressive, Worthy Recipients

2018 Awards Held at Historic Undulata Farm, Shelby County


Each year thousands of Kentuckians work tirelessly to preserve Kentucky’s legacy reflected in our historic buildings, structures, landscapes and prehistoric sites. Preservation Kentucky established the Excellence in Preservation Leadership Awards in 2012 to recognize exceptional accomplishments in the preservation, rehabilitation and interpretation of our architectural and cultural heritage, and to  distinguish best practices in the field.



Recipients were honored at Preservation Kentucky’s Annual Meeting & Awards Ceremony at beautiful historic Undulata Farm in Shelby County on Saturday, October 27, 2018.


Award Categories and 2018 Recipients

The awards are named after Kentuckians who have a long service of dedicated volunteer and/or professional time devoted to preserving Kentucky’s architectural, cultural and prehistoric heritage, and underscore the economic development, aesthetic and quality of life benefits of historic preservation.  Projects are not restricted to a beginning/start date or completion/end date.


Edith S. Bingham Excellence in Preservation Education

Shaker Village of South Union

For preservation educators, projects, or programs that have demonstrated excellence in traditional or nontraditional educational arenas.


Linda Bruckheimer Excellence in Rural Preservation Award

Paris Train Depot

For those devoted to preserving Kentucky’s rural heritage with special consideration given to small towns with a population less than 10,000.


Christy and Owsley Brown II Excellence in Public Service to Preservation

Debra Richards Harlan    

For public officials or civil servants who have demonstrated leadership in preservation policy on the local, state and/or national level.


Helen Dedman Excellence in Preservation Advocacy

Friends of Eastern Cemetery

For advocates, volunteers and/or professionals who have shown great commitment of time and resources to furthering historic preservation across the state.


Barbara Hulette Excellence as Young Preservationist

Mark Ramler

For those under the age of 40 who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in historic preservation endeavors.


Patrick Kennedy Excellence in Preservation Craftsmanship

Tommy Kidwell  

For craftsmen/women who have demonstrated exceptional skills and restoration techniques.


David L. Morgan Excellence in Kentucky Historic Preservation Tax Credit

Commercial – First Christian / Immanuel Baptist Church

Residential – Knight Hockensmith House

For commercial and residential projects that have demonstrated excellence in rehabilitation using Kentucky’s State Historic Preservation Tax Credit.


Ann Early Sutherland Excellence in Environmental Preservation

River Fields

For leaders who have made a strong connection between the preservation of historic places and environmental concerns, and understand the relationship between the preservation of our built environment and our natural environment.


Preservation Kentucky Excellence in Kentucky Cultural Heritage

Mt. Washington Youth COPS/Chamber of Preservationists   

For an organization, site or attraction that has preserved and advanced Kentucky’s architectural, cultural and social history through dynamic interpretation and the promotion of historic resources that contribute significantly to our tourism industry and the preservation of our heritage.